The Race Place

Raw Deal For Harness

Field Commander

Is anyone else saddened with the way the TAB is funding the codes now days and how Harness is being disadvantaged ?

On top of this each Saturday during October the TAB have ran bonus bet promo's on 16 races. Races 1 to 4 at both the NZ meetings and the Melbourne and Sydney meetings.

Since Friday there have been 20 bonus bet races,

Fri 22 Oct

Moonee Valley (2)

Sat 23 Oct 

Matamata (4)

Riccarton (4)

Moonee Valley (4)

Randwick (4)

Mon 25 Oct 

Te Rapa (2)

Nothing for Harness or Greyhounds but 20 races for Thoroughbreds.

• Like 3

9 minutes ago, karrotsishere said:

What if we don't want to go scrolling thru tehe. 

Heard @mardigras is an expert in this area tho. Perhaps could give a quick brief summary of what FC & myself have missed on Punting Perspective forum. 

Thanks for the tip tho Globe. Might take a look at it at some stage 😄

Wouldn't say I'm an expert on the day to day operations of the TAB. But I do understand a fair bit about wagering and markets - and the policies of the TAB are not helping the industry it is supposedly supporting.

On the topic of things like treatment of Harness versus Gallops etc, this is just more of what they do in regards the ways in which they support their customer base. They think that the money is to be made on gallops, and additionally, as much as anything else, offshore gallops. Hence even offshore gallops had bonus options ahead of local harness or greyhounds.

They are intent on driving their customer base away from domestic racing which will do nothing to aid in the sustainability of those local codes.

So can't really help on the topic as started - except to say I'd expect to see more of the same from the bunch of useless twits we have in charge.

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1

56 minutes ago, Field Commander said: