The Race Place

TAB Website

Hesi

I've recently validated my ID, so I can use my account online.

As a complete novice, I have found all the features quite good, once Pete pointed out how to use a few things, but a couple of questions

1.  Okay they spent 40 mil on it, and it costs them 17 mil a year.  That seems excessive to me, especially the 17 mil, but do the fixed odds prices automatically update, must do surely, too much attending to, with so many options available.  If that is the case, surely you would only spend that sort of money, if it was obviously going to increase net betting revenue, but more importantly, allow you to reduce your costs, through reducing manual intervention.  You would expect to see, at least 17 mil disappear from your fixed costs.  If you have this incredibly complicated computer programme, that cost a whole lot of money, then isn't that the whole point

2.  Secondly, you read about people having their accounts suspended, because they are winning too much, which must be on fixed odds.  Can they not offer to account holders, the option of just having access to tote betting, or taking it a step further fixed odd betting for sports and tote only for racing.  That would be relatively easy to sort, looking at the way the whole platform is set up

I think they can restrict you on fixed odds and allow you access to tote, so I expect they already have the ability to restrict a punter to tote only. The issue for a punter taking fixed versus tote, is that the punter can identify what they consider to be an 'error' in the fixed price. But by the time the race starts, the tote prices won't reflect that 'error'. Couple that with poor takeout rates on the tote and what have become ever decreasing pool sizes, a punter is somewhat limited into what bet they can take.