The Race Place

Steve davis

vanturk

It's a bit like people who criticise jockeys, that have never ridden a horse

Much the same, people who criticise on screen presenters who have no idea the training it takes, and how many are just not suitable because the camera does not like them

And yes I have had some experience of this in a former job, and not with me. 

46 minutes ago, Hesi said:

I don't think many on these chat sites realise what is takes to project in front of a camera.

Jason could probably throw more light on that, with his brother being a presenter.

Lot more than just being knowledgeable about horse racing

There is a lot of prep needing to be done that is for sure as don't want to have silent dead air live. I could never do it. Steve brought some flair to trackside with his "take the Freddy field in the quaddie" and his impromptu pretend trumpet blowing and drumrolls. Think TAB looking for a more professional look to TS now though.

• Like 1

12 hours ago, Hesi said:

Some are reluctant to watch Weigh In 

Yes. I don't watch it but that's because of the dreary content mainly, Guerin or not. Needs a competent guest interviewer to make it a little bit interesting imo and be more future focused rather than a rehash of stuff we already know and have seen. That's a producer issue.

Edited by curious

On 1/10/2023 at 5:02 PM, Dancing Show said:

I'm a fan of both Hesi 🙂 and ....

Whose the other you are fan of??

Anyone in the media is fair game for reaction, criticism or acclaim. Thats part of the job and if they can't handle it then they shouldn't be there. Interestingly a software developer loves criticism because that enables them to fix mistakes. Most people think they are being polite by not saying anything.

7 minutes ago, slam dunk said:

Whose the other you are fan of??